Economic and Investment Zones

Stay up to date with county NewsKitui County aims to achieve economic and social development through strategic planning.

Explore Our Economic Zones

Kitui County’s “Vision for Economic and Social Transformation” aims to drive development from 2015 to 2025. To achieve this, six economic and investment zones were established, capitalizing on each zone’s unique strengths. These zones aim to attract investment, maximize resource use, create jobs, and improve the quality of life for residents through a clean and safe environment.

The Kyuso-Tseikuru-Mumoni EIZ

The Kyuso-Tseikuru-Mumoni Economic Zone is positioned for significant agricultural development. The zone boasts several advantages for investors and residents:

The Mui Basin EIZ

This strategic location is expected to be a key driver of economic growth across Kitui County. The abundant coal resources aim to attract energy-intensive industries, creating substantial employment opportunities and attracting direct investment.

Mwingi town and its Environs

Strategically positioned near the LAPSSET corridor along the Garissa-Mwingi-Thika highway, the Mwingi and Environs Economic Zone offers several advantages for businesses:

 Kitui County Headquarters and its Environs EIZ

This zone leverages its existing infrastructure and administrative role to become a major urban center in Kitui County.

 The Kanyangi -Kanyonyoo-Kwa Vonza

This zone offers a unique blend of educational institutions, strategic location, and diverse resources.

The Mutomo- Ikutha-Kanziko

This zone offers a wealth of natural resources and strategic positioning near Tsavo East National Park. The focus on infrastructure development aims to unlock the zone’s full economic potential.